Tropical Oppression: UNC 105, Miami 64

A few notes from the game:

  • My general analysis of Miami was right, but by deeper analysis was completely wrong. I said the Miami might be able to hang with Carolina because they had a deep bench. At first glance, this is true: according to ESPN, 10 players on their roster average double-digit minutes per game. But closer inspection reveals that 4 of those players were injured for this game, leaving their bench significantly depleted. barring a letdown from Carolina, Miami did not have a chance.
  • Bobby Frasor is rusty. This was Frasor’s first game back after a second foot injury from the Virginia Tech game sidelined him for the past 4 contests. Tonight it looked like either he still wasn’t fully recovered or was not in rhythm with his teammates, who have not missed action. This reminds me: Brendan Wright wasn’t nearly as much of a factor in this game as I had expected. Either he and Ginyard are still recovering from the stomach flu or Roy decided Miami was a weak enough opponent to give him a reduced role. Whatever is the case, his free throw shooting didn’t skip a beat. Oh, how I wish that were a complement.
  • The threes finally started to fall. For Tar Heel fans like myself, one obvious weakness was our perimeter game; the seemed not to play good defense, couldn’t shoot the three very well, and generally depended too much on the frontcourt of Wright/Psycho T/Thompson/Stepheson. Even in our blowout of the WIldcats, we shot 5-21 from beyond the golden arches. Wait was that a product placement? Uh…never mind. Anyway, this may have been the result of an inferior opponent, but the backcourt really lit it up against the Hurricanes, hitting 12 of 24 threes. The last one was Dewey Burke’s shot that gave us 2 breakfast sausage biscuits for $1 at Bojangles! And speaking of unheralded guardplay…
  • Q!KYOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! Quentin Thomas’ non-scoring stats at PG in this game? 8 assists, 1 rebound, 1 turnover in 11 minutes. Ty Lawson? 3 assists, 0 rebounds, 4 TOs, 20 min. ‘Nuff said. I know that Lawson has 13 points in this game, but still. I want to see this team win as much as possible, but I’m kind of hoping that Lawson declares after this season. As crazy as that sounds, I want to see Quentin Thomas get the opportunity to start at point guard in his senior year. And Ty is playing so lights out, there’s no way it’s going to happen unless Lawson declares. You heard it here first: next year’s starting lineup will be Hansbrough, Thompson, Green, Ellington and Q, with Stepheson, Ginyard, Frasor, and the freshman class to back them up.

Once again, we got biscuits, and once again, I didn’t take advantage of Bojangles’ offer. But hey, at least I have an excuse: it snowed this morning. A hurricane has no chance against a big chill.

2 Responses to “Tropical Oppression: UNC 105, Miami 64”

  1. extrapolater Says:

    How’s old Roy doing? I am a Kansas grad, and I still wish the guy well. I live near UVA now, so I got to enjoy the win over Duke the other night, which always warms the deep, dark cockles of my playa-hatin’ heart.

  2. Mike White Says:

    He’s doing just fine; he’s assembled quite a team here. Many of us in Chapel Hill think he is the messiah, worthy of taking on a certain polish catholic 8 miles to the east. I have only two complaints:

    1. I really wish the Doherty situation was handled more fairly. I think he was shafted by Dick Baddour (our AD), and Roy won the 2005 title with Matt’s team. But that isn’t Roy’s fault.

    2. I’ve seen late night with Roy, and trust me, you don’t want to see him dance. He dances like Brendan Wright shoots free throws.


Leave a Reply

